Holiday Repost: For most, tablets do not make good full-time laptops

Microsoft Surface RTI’m a huge tablet user… I have a SurfaceRT (my main work tablet), an iPad, have gotten an Android tablet for my wife’s Christmas present (shhhh….. it’s a secret, so don’t tell anyone), and use them incredibly often. I’m also a notebook (what used to be laptop) user, with a HP ProBook 6560b, and have used as my main machines a Macbook Pro (loved it), a ThinkPad, something from Acer… lots from HP…etc. And I have found that, surprise, surprise, they each have their uses.

My personal EdTech philosophy is that the Senior Years (Grades 10 – 12) would best be served by touchscreen Windows 8 Pro notebooks (preferably with a stylus) as they have loads of typing to do, and my experience with tablets is that they just don’t do it as well. I really like the look of the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga which doubles up… My school also has a heap of Windows only software, so that rules out the RT, iPads, Android and Chromebooks. This is sad, but is a necessity of working in an enterprise – you use what you’ve got.

So it was interesting to read the following article over at ZDNet by James Kendrick (a blog I follow):

For most, tablets do not make good full-time laptops

which seems to support my assertion that tablets and laptops both have significant difference, which alter their suitability.

Anyway, head on over to ZDNet and have a read. It’s short and good.

Have a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

